Kenyan government extends curfew in North Eastern region

Kenyan government has extended the curfew imposed a month ago in the Counties of Mandera, Wajir, Garissa and Tana River in North Eastern region due to increasing Al Shabaab attacks.

Through a Special Gazette Notice dated May 15, 2015, the Cabinet Secretary for Interior Joseph Nkaisseiry stated the dusk to dawn curfew shall apply from 6:30 PM to 6:30 AM.

“Under the Curfew Order, no gathering or procession should have more than five persons without authorization of the County Police Commander,” he said.

The order also bans possession, carrying or display in public of offensive weapons by any person who has no lawful or legal reason to have such weapons.

The curfew imposed earlier was due to expire on May 16, 2015.

The minister added that the curfew takes effect from May 17 to June 16 2015, when the decision whether to extend the curfew or not shall be made based on security situation in the area.

The curfew was imposed early last month when armed group Al Shabaab assault on Garissa University College left more than 150 students dead.

The locals of the area who are mainly Somalis have complained that the curfew has affected their business.

About Dalsan Editor

View all posts by Dalsan Editor