Foreign Office reveals countries it says we shouldn’t travel to


The Foreign Office has revealed a list of 18 countries that is has deemed too unsafe for Britons to travel to due to an increased threat to security.

Countries including Afghanistan, Iraq and Syria and on the list, while travel to Somalia and Palestinian territories is also off limits.

Following the terror attacks in Tunisia earlier this year, the African country finds itself on the list.

The Foreign Office has also released a list of 45 countries it deems that are at high-risk including Egypt, a firm favourite with British holidaymakers

The news comes in response to last month’s plane crash, which left 224 people dead on a flight fromSharm el-Sheikh to St. Petersburg in Russia.

It was announced this morning that tour operators have grounded all outbound flights to the Egyptian resort until November 26 at the earliest, and have stopped selling cheap last-minute deals to the destination, on top of the cancelled flights since the disaster on October 31.

The list of countries which are deemed unsafe to travel to:

* Afghanistan

* Burundi

* Central African Republic

* Chad

* Democratic Republic of the Congo

* Guinea

* Iraq

* Libya

* Mauritania

* Niger

* Palestinian territories

* Sierra Leone

* Somalia

* Somaliland

* South Sudan

* Syria

* Tunisia

* Yemen


The 45 countries deemed in the at risk category:

* Algeria

* Angola

* Armenia

* Azerbaijan

* Bangladesh

* Burkina Faso

* Burma (Myanmar)

* Cambodia

* Cameroon

* Colombia

* Djibouti

* Ecuador

* Egypt

* Eritrea

* Ethiopia

* Georgia

* Haiti

* India

* Iran

* Israel

* Ivory Coast

* Japan

* Jordan

* Kenya

* Kosovo

* Lebanon

* Madagascar

* Malaysia

* Mali

* Nepal

* Nigeria

* Pakistan

* Philippines

* Republic of Congo

* Russia

* Saudi Arabia

* Sudan

* Tajikistan

* Thailand

* Turkey

* Uganda

* Ukraine

* Venezuela

* Western Sahara

The Foreign Office has advised any British nationals still remaining in Syria to leave as quickly as possible, as the government are unable to provide any consular service in the event of an emergency.

Read more:
Follow us: @Leicester_Merc on Twitter | leicestermercury on Facebook

About Dalsan Editor

View all posts by Dalsan Editor