MPs sign move to table motion of no confidence against Somali President

Radio Dalsan has learnt that more than 139 members of Somali national assembly have signed a document aimed to table motion of no confidence against President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud.

The move which is reported to be secretly driven by members for the past few days is gaining momentum, according to reliable sources.

According to the constitution the motion needs the support of 80 members to be presented to the speaker and tabled in the house for debate.

Two third majority is also needed which is in this case is 184 members of parliament for the motion of no confidence against the president to pass.

The drivers of the motion have based their argument on three key points which they believe is enough to send the president out of Villa Somalia.

To start with, members say the president and his inner circles are mismanaging national assets by selling government land and building for selfish gains.

Secondly, lack of salary and remuneration for the civil servants especially armed forces for the past few months and finally lack of allowances for the members of parliament which they claimed is diverted to other parts of the country for political support of the established central regional state.