SW State Submits Senatorial Candidates, Opposition Allies Knocked Out Of List

South West State President Abdiaziz Laftagaren has officially submitted the list of candidates running for the upper house of the Somali parliament onSaturday.

Among the key take aways candidates in the list include Senator Ilyas Hassan of Himilo Qaran party led by former president Sheikh Sharif Ahmed. Hussein Sheikh Mohamud of UDP party led by former head of state Hassan Sheikh Mohamud was also left out.

This comes just hours after South West State of Somalia’s Electoral Implementation Committee and members of the House of Representatives for the Upper House elections held a meeting in Baidoa, alongside Federal electoral committee members discussing accelerate the election process.

Southwest State becomes the second regional state to submit names of the senate candidates after Jubaland state which elected some of it’s senators on Thursday.

The upper house will comprise of 54 Senators from all the regional member states. They will be voted in by state MP’s.

The upper house elections was to kick off last week but it was delayed as regional parliaments did not submit their lists of candidates.

Read below the names of the candidates submitted


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.