Defense Minister Mursal, 2 Dep. Ministers Eyeing Speaker Position Must Resign, Poll Committee Says

The Speakers elections committee has announced 30th April as the day voting day to decide who will take charge of the Lower House after the resignation of Mohamed Osman Jawari.

The committee has farther announced that any serving Minister eyeing for the Speaker  position must resign ahead of the voting.

Three Ministers have shown interest in the race to replace Jawari.

Minister of Defense Mohamed Mursal Abdirahman, Deputy Minister of Commerce and Industry Abdiaziz and Deputy Minister of Posts and Telecommunications Liban Yerow

A timetable was on Sunday been released by the committee. Registration of contestants will take place between 23 and 24 April with the committee based at the Villa Hargeisa Somalia´s official Speaker´s residence.

Candidates will face Parliamentarians to convince why they should vote them from the 25 to 26 April.